Contact Little Compton Rhode Island Town Government

Town Council Members: 

The members of the Little Compton Town Council are:

    Robert L. Mushen, President

    Paul J. Golembeske, Vice President

    Gary S. Mataronas

    Charles N. Appleton, Jr.

    Fred M. Bodington III

Meetings are normally held the first Thursday after the first Monday of every month at 7:00 pm in the Town Council Chambers and two weeks thereafter.

All members can be reached by emailing:



Planning Board Members:


    Michael Steers, Chair

    David R. DeSouza, Vice-Chair

    Helen Woodhouse

    Robert M. Green

    Mark W. Cady

    Salvatore Marinosci

    Patrice O'Malley Hagan

    Charles Barend

    Mary W. C. Suttell


Town Business Manager


Thomas G. Dunn III


The Town Business Manager serves at the pleasure of the Town Council performing duties as assigned by the Council.


T: (401) 635–8373

F: (401) 635–2470



Robert L. Mushen


Town Council, President

Emergency Management Director


Town Hall

40 Commons; P.O. Box 226

Little Compton, RI 02837

T: (401) 635–4529

F: (401) 635–2470





William L. Moore


Building Official & Director of Public Works

Town Hall; 40 Commons; P.O. Box 226;

Little Compton, RI 02837

T: (401) 635–8384

F: (401) 592–0076



Gary S. Mataronas

Town Council, Member


Town Hall; 40 Commons

P.O. Box 226; Little Compton, RI 02837

T: (401) 635–4529

F: (401) 635–2470


Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Thomas Kauffmann
    Members of the Town Council:

    I would like to weigh-in in favor of the Stone House being permitted to host weddings. I find it very upsetting that the Town has denied the permit to hold such events there.

    As the neighbor directly to the east, approximately 50 feet from the tent where such events are held, we have had no issues with the previous weddings that have been held there, and since the Stone House has been under new management, they have been exemplary in managing these events. When the time comes to silence the music, it is done. They have been very respectful of our rights and have been conscientious to not infringe upon our peace and tranquility. We have had our house next to the Stone House since 1964, and during that tenure we have had only one or two instances where we complained. One incident was because the party started launching lighted lanterns into the air and they were drifting towards our house. Another incident occurred when a wedding party was carrying on by the fire pit and was rowdy and boisterous at about 1 AM. Both of those incidents occurred well before the current management took over.

    As we all know, Little Compton is a very special place, and those of us who cherish it want to see it maintained. A wedding is a very happy, solemn event where many memories are made. Admittedly, it brings outsiders into Little Compton, but I don’t see this as being a bad thing. Many people who get exposed to Little Compton, come back because they enjoy the serenity and beauty it offers. They rent a cottage for a couple of years and then purchase a home here. That’s how my family found Little Compton. Norm and Betty Paul, Carol Haffenraffer’s in-laws invited my parents to visit from New Hampshire in 1954, and we came and stayed at the Stone House. My parents decided Little Compton offered so much that we started renting various houses in different parts of LC. Then they bought the lot directly east of the Stone House and built our home in 1964 (120C Sakonnet Point Road – “Swan Way”). I am currently in the process of planning making modifications to our home so that I can become a full-time resident.

    The Stone House offers LC residents and outsiders a place to stay, a place to eat, a place to gather as in the past with the Soup and Sandwich. It is my understanding that the Stone House wants to re-kindle some of these type events which is a benefit to the community.

    In closing, I would request that the Town Council support the Stone House as it is an integral part of LC and has been for a long time. Let others share the beauty and serenity of Little Compton.


    Thomas R. Kauffmann